Join your sisters at the Diocesan Convention and Renew.

ABMK Provincial Conventions

1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1

Alberta Mackenzie  Voting delegates are the five diocesan1 presidents (or designates). 

Accredited delegates include: 
- all provincial officers
- two from each diocesan CWL council         
- one from each parish CWL council                 

- Honorary Life members

- Life members

Voting delegates may vote on all motions. Accredited delegates may vote on all motions EXCEPT the election of officers, amendments to the Constitution & Bylaws, and increase in per capita fees (C&B 2013). Councils are encouraged to send all their designated delegates to ensure the council is adequately represented at the Provincial Convention.

1 The five Diocesan Councils are

  • Calgary,
  • Edmonton,
  • Grouard-McLennan,
  • Mackenzie – Fort Smith,
  • St Paul.

Each Diocesan Council is entitled to send one Voting delegate (President or designate) plus two Accredited delegates (elected officers) in an official capacity to represent the council at provincial conventions.

Each Parish Council is entitled to send one Accredited Delegate (elected officer or another member).

Provincial Officers, Honorary Life Members and Life Members holding a membership in a council in Alberta Mackenzie also have accredited status. Other members are welcome as regular CWL member attendees.

**NOTE: Voting and accredited delegates are required to submit a Credential Form with their Registration (rec'd by email or post).

2024 ABMK Convention

The 77th Annual Convention of the Alberta Mackenzie Provincial Council of The Catholic Women’s League of Canada will be held in Calgary May 31 - June 2, 2024, for the presentation of annual reports and to conduct any other business of the Council.

2023 ABMK Convention

The 76th Annual Convention of the Alberta Mackenzie Provincial Council of The Catholic Women’s League of Canada was held June 2 & 3, 2023 at Corpus Christi Catholic Church, 2707 – 34 Street N.W. in the Diocese of Edmonton, for the presentation of annual reports and to conduct any other business of the Council.

Convention Theme
Catholic and Living It: Walking Together

Corpus Christi, Edmonton

We are excited to welcome an outstanding group of speakers to inspire, inform and challenge us in our faith journeys. Included are National President Fran Lucas, Archbishop Richard Smith, Chief Wilton Littlechild (who was instrumental in bringing Pope Francis to Canada), Sister Mary Clare Stack from Catholic Social Services, Carmen Michaud from Development and Peace and Lynn O’Donnell from the Coady Institute.

The Opening Mass & Ceremony was held at Sacred Heart Catholic Church of the First Peoples where Pope Francis celebrated Mass last year. It afforded an opportunity to congratulate and welcome their new CWL council and pray for success in their church community.

More details can be found at:

The 75th Annual Convention of the Alberta Mackenzie Provincial Council of the Catholic Women's League of Canada was held Friday June 3 and Saturday June 4, 2022.

Report (June 9, 2022) from Renee Spohn, Diocesan President: Alberta Mackenzie Provincial Convention, June 2 – 4, 2022

St. Paul’s CWL Diocese hosted the provincial convention in Lac La Biche, the lake was beautiful, the fish flies not so much. Approximately ninety members enjoyed our sisterhood. Dr. Troy Davies, inspired us, he spoke on the “The Eucharist: A Love Story that every Catholic needs to know.” Rev. Jim Corrigan encouraged us to have our first cup of tea, by facilitating a group sharing “Unpeeling the Onion,” asking us to reflect on Truth & Reconciliation and explore our feelings and behaviors.

Instructed Vote:
Constitution & Bylaws 2013 proposed amendments
Numbers: 1,3,4,5,6, and 8 adopted (Yes)
Number 2: Patroness and Spiritual Program – defeated (No)
Number 7: Term of Office – defeated (No)
Motion to Increase per Capita Fees – defeated (No)

ABMK Provincial Officers:
Past President – Judy Look
President – Mary Hunt
Secretary – Jan Myhre
Treasurer – Celine Berlinguette
Vice President – Spiritual Chair – Janet MacPhee
Organization Chair – Betsy Fletcher
Communication Chair – Gloria Lundberg
Standing Chairs – Mary Malloy, Denise Blackstock, and Suzanne Sherry

Approved: Resolution 2022.01 – Federal Legislation to Reduce Food Loss and Waste
Resolved, that the Alberta Mackenzie Provincial Council of the Catholic Women’s League of Canada, in 75th annual provincial convention assembled, urge the federal government to enact legislation to reduce food loss and waste for Canada’s industrial, commercial, and institutional sectors; and be it further
Resolved, that this resolution be forwarded to national council of The Catholic Women’s League of Canada for consideration at its 2022 annual convention.

Approved: Constitution & Bylaws (2013) Proposed Amendment to insert into Pt XIV Sec 2 Subsec (f); Pt XIV Sec 3 Subsec (d); Pt XIV Sec 4 Subsec (d) “When alternative meetings are held, including electronic meetings, provisions for simultaneous aural communication shall be required.”

Three motions were adopted to donate:
1) $10,000 for the Ukrainian Canadian Congress Humanitarian Crisis
2) $10,000 for the Hay River Flood fund (Hay River including West Point First Nations)
3) $5,000 for the Papal Visit for the costs associated with bringing together the Holy Father and the Indigenous people.

2024 ABMK

Calgary North CWL Councils are pleased to host the
2024 Alberta MacKenzie Provincial Convention
Ascension Parish, 1100 Berkshire Boulevard NW, Calgary, AB   T3K 3M3​​
Friday, May 31 and Saturday, June 1, 2024.


All members and Spiritual Advisors are encouraged to attend.

PLEASE NOTE: Blue text in the articles below indicate links: tap on them for more information